College of Media at University of Illinois |



Students receive research award

U of I logo

Two advertising students, Aparna Sivasankaran and Yixin Zou, have received the “Stevick Foundation Excellence in Media Research, Outstanding” award for their research project “Creating and Testing Virtual Reality (VR) for UIUC: Immersive Media & The Consumer” originally presented at the Undergraduate Research Symposium.

The Office of Undergraduate Research stated, “This award reflects the high quality of your research as well as your effective presentation."


24 May

Study: Consumers see much greater risk than reward in online ads

U of I logo

By Craig Chamberlain

Illinois advertising professor Chang-Dae Ham, an expert in the study of hidden persuasion techniques, says the personalized advertising that follow us online is “a very special type” in the way it elicits risk perceptions and privacy concerns.


Personalized ads now follow us around the web, their content drawn from tracking our online activity. The ad industry has suggested we’re OK with it – that we see benefits roughly equal to perceived risks.

18 May

Honors graduates recognized at reception

U of I logo

On Saturday, May 13, graduating students who had received honors were recognized at a reception for family and friends. Students were recognized in several honors categories and received certificates of recognition.

Nineteen students were honored with the designation of Alpha Delta Sigma, a national honor society sponsored by the American Advertising Federation. It recognizes and encourages scholastic achievement in advertising studies. It was founded in 1913 and is the only national, professional advertising honorary society in American higher education.  

18 May

Students participate in undergraduate research symposium

A number of College of Media students participated in the Undergraduate Research Symposium in April at the Illini Union. Their work included both individual and team projects.

This year marked the tenth for the symposium, which has grown each year. The variety of entries demonstrates the interest our undergraduates have in research as well as the continued commitment of faculty in supporting undergraduate research opportunities.

04 May

Students earn awards

U of I logo

The Students in Illinois News Broadcasters Association presented four awards to U of I journalism students on Saturday, April 22 at its convention in Urbana.

SINBA awarded first place awards to: Libby Foster, Zila Renfro and the crew of UI-7 News for a spring 2016 magazine show.
Senior Mike O'Neill won a second place sports reporting award for a video story about Champaign's Finke family and basketball.

26 Apr


more news