College of Media at University of Illinois |



Rosenstein headshot
Jay Rosenstein, professor and documentary film maker, recently reflected on the 20th Anniversary of "In Whose Honor?" his award-winning documentary about the use of Native American Indians as sports mascots. Read his Huffington Post column here. Learn more about the film and Rosenstein's...
U of I logo
Pulitzer Prize winning film critic, Roger Ebert, will be inducted into the Chicago Literary Hall of Fame in August. Chaz Ebert will accept the award on her late husband’s behalf. Roger Ebert graduated from Illinois in 1964 with a degree in journalism. He was awarded the Illinois Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Journalism in 2014. Details on the event can be...
Brant Houston headshot
Brant Houston, Knight Chair for Investigative Reporting at the College of Media, was quoted by the Columbia Journalism Review in an article on invesitgative journalism. Read the full story here.
U of I logo
The American Academy of Advertising held its annual conference July 6 – 8 at Waseda University in Tokyo, Japan. Professors and students participated in the conference by presenting research, serving as panelists and moderating panels. AAA is an organization of advertising scholars and professionals with an interest in...
Janice Collins
Janice Collins, assistant professor of journalism, has received the Basket Mosse Award for Faculty Development from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. The Baskett Mosse Award for Faculty Development recognizes an outstanding young or midcareer faculty member in journalism or mass communication. Its...


more news