College of Media at University of Illinois |



U of I logo
Faculty and graduate students in the College of Media participated in the annual conference of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) in Washington DC. The mission of AEJMC is to advance education, foster scholarly research, cultivate better professional practice and promote the free flow of communication. Illinois was well represented at the conference, with faculty and students from across the...
U of I logo
By   Craig Chamberlain  | Social Sciences Editor  Professor Isabel Molina-Guzman studies TV and is a big fan of comedies with Latino characters. Her new book examines the role of Latinos in those sitcoms, as well as the changing form of a genre that often relies on cringe humor and “hipster racism.” Read the full story here. Photo by L. Brian Stauffer    
U of I logo
The Journalism Department at the University of Illinois is deeply saddened to learn of the passing last week of distinguished alumni John Foreman who served as prize-winning reporter, editor and publisher at The News-Gazette in Champaign, Illinois. Foreman, 65 was a long-time supporter of the Journalism Department and the College of Media and helped guide significant donations from the Marajen Stevick Foundation to the department and college. "John Foreman was instrumental in the creation of...
U of I logo
Colleen Hammel has received the Member of the Year Award from The Secretariat. She is Office Administrator in the Advancement Office for the College. The Member of the Year Award was created as a way to celebrate the contributions of Secretariat members – to honor a member that has contributed in a significant way to The Secretariat, the University of Illinois and/or the community. Hammel was cited for volunteering at the Salvation Army Toy Shop at Christmastime; going above and beyond to...
U of I Logo
Grace Khachaturian, a senior in journalism, was crowned Miss Illinois 2018 on Saturday, June 9. A Champaign native, Khachaturian will represent the state at the national competition in September. Five previous Miss Illinois contestants have been crowned Miss America. They include: Lois Delander (1927), Judith Ford (1969...


more news