BrEpic wins prestigious Silver Trumpet award from Publicity Club of Chicago

Justin Breen, the Founder/CEO of BrEpic Communications LLC and Journalism Chair for the University of Illinois College of Media Alumni Board, won a Silver Trumpet award from the Publicity Club of Chicago at the 59th annual Golden Trumpet Awards competition on May 22.

The competition, held at Chicago’s Palmer House Hilton, featured entries from the greater Chicagoland area, and is known as the premier public relations industry award program in the Midwest.

23 May

College announces additions to leadership team

U of I Logo

The College of Media is pleased to announce several additions to the leadership team.

Stephanie Craft will be assuming the position of Head of the Department of Journalism, effective June 16, 2018. Her research focuses on news literacy and journalism ethics.

Mike Yao will become Interim Head of the Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising, also beginning June 16, 2018. His research research focuses on the social and psychological impacts of interactive digital media.  

18 May

Cole receives campus award

U of I logo

CL Cole, head of the Department of Media and Cinema Studies, has received the Campus Award for Excellence in Faculty Leadership. 

The Office of the Provost sponsors the campus-level awards in recognition of excellence in faculty leadership for those faculty who distinguish themselves with their vision of the future and their effort to enable and promote others in shaping that future. Each of the four awardees received a $2,000 honorarium and a personalized commemorative plaque.

10 May

AAF wins largest chapter award

AAF logo

Once again, the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign has won the award for Largest American Advertising Federation college chapter this school year with 450 members. The group is advised by Steve Hall, senior lecturer in the Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising.

A student representative of the chapter is invited to attend the annual ADMERICA conference free of charge. The group will be recognized during the NSAC Awards Luncheon and the student representative will receive an award for the chapter.

08 May