Sulkin reappointed as College of Media Dean

Tracy SulkinTracy Sulkin, who has served as dean of the University of Illinois College of Media since 2018, has been reappointed for a five-year term, pending Board of Trustees approval.

The reappointment follows a review of Sulkin’s first term.

“The Dean’s Evaluation Committee was generous with its praise for her transparent and effective leadership, noting her consultative yet decisive approach to decision-making; her strategic approach to the budget, including the establishment of clear priorities and a commitment to effectively communicating the details of the campus budget model to faculty and staff; and her active promotion of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the college,” said Rosa Milagros Santos, acting executive vice provost for academic affairs at the Urbana campus.

“It is a great privilege to serve the College of Media community for another term as dean,” said Sulkin. “I am eager to work with our talented and dedicated faculty, staff, students, and alumni to build on the exciting momentum we have created together over the past five years. As we begin our planning for our centennial celebration in 2027, it is clear that there is a bright future ahead for the College of Media.”

The evaluation committee highlighted several key accomplishments under Sulkin’s leadership, including the elevation of the College of Media’s profile on campus, success in advancement—notably the biggest gift in College of Media history with the establishment of the Richard and Leslie Frank Center for Leadership and Innovation in Media, plus the Roger Ebert Center for Film Studies—and substantial upgrades to technology and infrastructure to support research, teaching, and learning.

“I am confident she will build upon this momentum and continue to advance the College of Media as a strong leader,” Santos added.

Sulkin joined the faculty at the University of Illinois in 2002, after earning her PhD in political science from the University of Washington. She formerly served as the College of Media’s interim executive associate dean and has held administrative positions in the Department of Political Science, including as associate head for undergraduate programs and director of graduate studies. She has been a fellow of the Big 10 Academic Alliance Academic Leadership Program and the University of Illinois President’s Executive Leadership Program. She is the recipient of multiple awards for excellence in teaching and is the author or coauthor of numerous articles and three books on legislative behavior, communication, and representation.