Two Media faculty win campus teaching awards

Jean McDonald and Shachar Meron
Jean McDonald and Shachar Meron. (Photos by L. Brian Stauffer.)


Congratulations to two College of Media faculty members for winning campus teaching awards! 

Jean McDonald, lecturer in journalism who teaches news editing and sports journalism courses, won a Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The award recognizes sustained excellence and innovative approaches in undergraduate teaching and contributions beyond classroom instruction that have an overall positive impact on undergraduate student learning.

Shachar Meron, lecturer in advertising and academic director of the online master's degree program strategic brand communication, won the Campus Award for Excellence in Online & Distance Teaching. This award honors excellence and innovation in online or distance teaching; contributions to student learning through innovative uses of technology; creativity in course development and instruction; and for having had a positive influence on the quality, extent, and development of a department’s online/distance program.

Read the full article:

Awards ceremony
Celebrating at the campus awards ceremony: Jean McDonald, Stephanie Craft (head of the Department of Journalism), College of Media Dean Tracy Sulkin, Shachar Meron, and Mike Yao (interim head of the Department of Advertising). (Photo by Jennifer Follis.)