Illinois was well-represented at regional Emmy Award celebrations this year. Alumni received the following awards:

Mid-America Chapter (St. Louis and Kansas City area)

  • Alison Davis Wood ’91 BS, ’11 MS
    UI Public affairs, writer, a documentary about Carlos Montezuma
  • Laura Hettiger ’09 BS, ’10 MS
    KMOV-TV, St. Louis reporter, general assignment reporter, covering the Ferguson story
  • Jim Kirchherr ’74 BS
    ​KETC-TV St. Louis, Health and Science programs and Environment program


Upper Midwest Chapter (Minneapolis area)

  • Robert Lowe ’13 BS
    KTIV, Sioux City IA, anchor reporter, coverage of police death vigil
  • Jennifer Griffin ’08 BS
    KARE TV Minneapolis, producer, best morning newscast
  • Darshan Patel ’14 BS
    KCRG TV Cedar Rapids, IA, shares Emmy for best morning newscast
  • Matt Brickman ’07 BS
    WCCO-TV Minneapolis, meteorologist, shares Emmy for best morning newscast


Midwest chapter (Chicago/Milwaukee area)

  • Rebecca Klopf ’03 BS, '05 MS
    WREX Rockford, Newscast of tornado coverage
  • Isabel Morales ’13 BS
    WLS-TV Chicago, producer, plane crash at Midway
  • Lauren Petty Stoltz ‘00 BS
    WLS Chicago, reporter, place crash at Midway
  • Holly Grisham Conroy ’91 BS
    WLS TV producer, public affairs program
  • Cheryl Burton ’84 LAS
    WLS TV anchor, live coverage of lights festival in Chicago

John Paul, lecturer in Journalism, chairs the Emmy's Board of Governor’s education committee and presented high school and college scholarships and awards at the Mid-America Chapter event.