2022 College of Media Teaching Award recipients announced

Each academic year, the College of Media seeks nominations for a teaching award that honors faculty who display a strong commitment to the undergraduate teaching mission. This year, Josh Heuman and Yiran Gao have been recognized as recipients of the 2022 College of Media Teaching Awards. 

HeumanHeuman, a teaching assistant professor in the Department of Media & Cinema Studies and the Department of Journalism, received the Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by a Specialized Faculty Member. Heuman's teachings range widely across the field of media studies, including courses in media industries, media law, media history, media theory, and media genre, narrative, and style. His research explores media industries and regulation, especially in television, with an emphasis on the regulation of media work. He’s also interested in the evolution of the television writers’ room where stories are first introduced.

GaoGao, a doctoral student at the Institute of Communications Research, received the Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching by a Teaching Assistant. Since Spring 2018, Gao has consistently been ranked as excellent by her students, based on Instructor and Course Evaluation System (ICES) questionnaire forms. Her interdisciplinary research interests lie at the intersection of media studies, critical cultural studies, science and technology studies, and global studies. Her current research focuses on the roles and the impact of digital media on the formation of digital public sphere at a transnational level.