AAA conference awards

Students, faculty and alumni of the Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising were among those receiving awards at the American Academy of Advertising annual conference.

Assistant Professor Brittany Duff and Associate Professor Sela Sar received runner-up for the best article for the premier journal in the field, Journal of Advertising for their co-authored article “Seeing the Big Picture: Multitasking and Perceptual Processing Influences on Ad Recognition.”

Brittany Duff received the Best Reviewer award for the Journal of Advertising.

Yilin (Coco) Ren, ICR student, received a $500 graduate student travel grant award from the AAA, based on her first authorship of the paper, "How Walking Forward Influences People’s Emotional Response to and Memory for Stimuli Viewed on a Mobile Phone" with Kevin Wise

Dr. Herb Rotfeld ’72 ADV, MS ’75, Ph.D. ’78, professor at Auburn University, was named a Fellow of the Academy. The Fellow Award is the most prestigious award given by the Academy. While other Academy awards honor members for outstanding achievement in a single area (e.g., teaching excellence, outstanding research, and distinguished service), the designation of Fellow is for a lifetime of achievement in the advancement of advertising scholarship, education, and service to the discipline.

Herb Rotfeld


 Dr. Herb Rotfeld