Media affiliates win Emmy Awards

Mid-America Emmys

In November, journalism faculty member and alumna Alison Davis, College of Media affiliate Illinois Public Media, and numerous alumni received Mid-America Emmy Awards and Chicago/Midwest Emmy Awards.

Davis, journalism lecturer, was one of the Big Ten Network producers of Engineering Fire, along with Tim Hartin and Kaitlin Southworth, and executive producers Robin Kaler (also a journalism alumna), Eric Todd Wilson, and Kent Brown. The documentary won a Mid-America Emmy Award in the category Specialty Assignment Program or Special. Engineering Fire, in which University of Illinois engineers travel to Haiti, explores the successful testing of a revolutionary solar-cooking device called a Sun Bucket that could greatly improve the lives of impoverished people. 

Illinois Public Media's feature film, Illinois Country, received two Mid-America Emmy Awards—one for outstanding work in Documentary - Cultural for the film as a whole, and another for Musical Composition/Arrangement for its original song "Backroads." Illinois Country first premiered on WILL-TV in March 2020, and explores Illinois’ singular role in the history of country music. Read more.

Journalism alumnus Billy Hatfield won a News Special Mid-America Emmy award as an editor for Project Illinois - Justice for Ta'naja (WICS).

Chicago-Midwest Emmys

Media alumni who won Chicago/Midwest Emmys include:

  • Robin Baumgarten—WGN: Outstanding Achievement for News Programming – Morning Newscast: Larger Markets
  • Steffie Drucker—WLS: Outstanding Achievement for Special Event Coverage – Live/Edited (other than News or Sports)
  • Jon Hansen—WCIU: Outstanding Crafts Achievement for On-Camera Talent - Weather Anchor
  • Eric Horng—WLS: Outstanding Achievement for News Programming – Evening Newscast: Larger Markets
  • Sarah Jindra—WGN: Outstanding Achievement for News Programming – Morning Newscast: Larger Markets
  • Ava Kelley—WMAQ: Outstanding Achievement for News Gathering – Spot News
  • Sandy Pudar—WGN: Outstanding Achievement for News Specialty Report/Series – Military

Additional Media alumni who received Chicago/Midwest Emmy nominations include:

  • Grace Aldrich (Banner/Chicago Blackhawks)
  • Ryan Baker (WBBM)
  • Samantha Chatman (WLS)
  • Liz Colleran (Fighting Irish Media)
  • Holly Grisham Conroy (WLS)
  • Eric Cox (WBBM)
  • Judy Hsu (WLS)
  • Stephanie Kim (WMAQ)
  • Gianna Marzetta (WBND)
  • Darshan Patel (WMAQ)
  • Mark Rivera (WLS)
  • Amanda Vinicky (WTTW)
  • Thomas Vodick (WGN)

Michelle Salemi (BS '11, journalism) won a national Daytime Emmy Award in June 2020 for Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show as a producer on The Ellen DeGeneres Show.

View the full list of 2020 Mid-America Emmy winners.

View the full list of 2020 Chicago/Midwest Emmy winners.