SPJ logo

Students in the College of Media received Mark of Excellence Awards at the Society of Professional Journalists conference, April 8 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The awards are presented annually to honor the best in student journalism. The awards offer categories for print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism. Entries are first judged on the regional level. First-place regional winners advance to the national competition. National winners will be showcased on spj.org.

Breaking News Photography (Large)
Finalist: Students Protest Trump – by Quentin Shaw

Feature Photography (Large)
Finalist: Urbana Sweet Corn Fest – by Brian Bauer

Photo Illustration (Large)
Winner: Homecoming Guide Cover – by Michelle Tam, Hannah Auten

Sports Photography (Large)
Winner: Football Touchdown – by Austin Yattoni

Breaking News Reporting (Large)
Winner: Shots fired near University on Green Street – by Daily Illini Staff
Finalist: UIPD investigates death of infant on campus – by Daily Illini Staff

Editorial Writing
Finalist: Daily Illini Editorial Board – by The Daily Illini Editorial Board

General Column Writing (Large)
Finalist: Isabella Winkler Columns – by Isabella Winkler

General News Reporting (Large)
Finalist: It happened here: Student witnesses reflect on a night of violence – by Claire Hettinger, Joseph Longo, and Samantha Jones Toal

In-Depth Reporting (Large)
Finalist: More Than a Black Engineer – by James Boyd

Sports Column Writing
Winner: Peter Bailey-Wells Columns – by Peter Bailey-Wells
Finalist: Kevin McCarthy Columns – by Kevin McCarthy

Best Use of Multimedia
Winner: #BlackScienceMatters – by University of Illinois Multimedia Journalism Students

Radio News Reporting
Winner: Non-Tenure Faculty Strike – by Zila Renfro

Radio Sports Reporting
Finalist: Gender Equity in Sports – by Jade Hilton

Television Feature Reporting
Finalist: Pumpkin Picking – by Reporter: Amelia Mugavero

Television General News Reporting
Finalist: Homer Tornado – by Reporter: Cassidy Williams

Television News and Feature Photography
Winner: Cornhole – by Reporter: Jeffrey Ohmer

Television Sports Reporting
Winner: Memorial Soccer Match – by Reporter: Cassie Chaplinsky