Scholarship List

College of Media students who submit a scholarship application in the spring will be considered for all awards they are eligible to receive for the following academic year.

For incoming freshmen, the admission application will be used to determine receipt of any awards for a student’s first year in media.

The following awards are funded through charitable donations to the College of Media.

Christopher L. Allen Scholarship:  awarded to academically meritorious juniors and seniors enrolled in the College of Media
Daniel and Nancy Balz Endowed Fund in Journalism: scholarship or internship support for journalism students
Jules and Jody Anne Becker Scholarship: journalism or advertising
Gerald Robert Bland Scholarship: journalism
Harold R. Bruno Jr. Fund for Journalism: journalism
C&U Poster Advertising Company Scholarship: senior in advertising
Donald E. Chamberlain Journalism Scholarship: awarded to outstanding journalism students on the basis of academic performance and promise of success in the field
Iris Chang Journalism Award: senior in journalism
Raymond Clamage Prize in Journalism: presented to the member of The Daily Illini staff not holding a senior position who has contributed the most to progress and quality of the newspaper during the year
Cardiss Collins Scholarship for Diversity in Advertising: awarded to a minority student in advertising
Goldie Maxine Cord and Marcus Franklin Cord Scholarship: third-year journalism student
Betty Hinckle Dunn Memorial Scholarship in Journalism: journalism
C.O. “Doc” Erickson Scholarship in Journalism: journalism
Dana M. Ewell Memorial Placement Awards: junior, senior or graduate student in journalism
Ian Fleming Foundation Undergraduate Research Scholarship: honors the late Ian Lancaster Fleming, journalist, critic, travel writer, and author of the James Bond novels
Nelio A. Florio and Patricia M. Florio Scholarship in Journalism: undergraduate journalism student
The Forsyth Family Endowed Scholarship: awarded based on academic merit
Paul C. Fulton Scholarships: juniors or seniors in advertising who maintain academic excellence
Bill Geist Broadcasting Journalism Writing Prize: senior in broadcast journalism
Paula L. Gottschalk Scholarship: advertising and journalism
H. Maxine Gladding Greenwood Scholarship: journalism student chosen for academic achievement and financial need
Haist Memorial Scholarship: journalism student with financial need
Glenn Hanson Scholarship in Visual Communication: journalism student studying graphic art
Hartshorn Internship: journalism internships, preference for broadcast journalism
C. Arthur and Eleanor Hemminger Scholarships: undergraduate media students
Richard Hildwein Memorial Photojournalism Award: journalism student with an interest in photojournalism
Calvin Hugy Scholarship: undergraduate media student
Illinois Broadcasters Association Scholarship in Journalism: senior in broadcast journalism
Gerald P Johnson Scholarship / Internship: provides scholarship and internship support to students in journalism interested in sports journalism
Marilyn Miller Kaytor Scholarships: journalism
Klues Family Foundation Scholarship: awarded to minority students in advertising
Media Alumni Scholarships: undergraduate in the College of Media
Media Annual Fund Scholarships: undergraduate in the College of Media
Daily Illini Journalism Scholarship Fund: merit scholarships for study abroad and internship opportunities for students across the College
Florence Hood Miner Scholarship in Journalism: undergraduate students in journalism who have financial need with a preference to students working for The Daily Illini or a similar student newspaper
Donald P. Mullally Intern: paid internship at WILL in the fall and spring semesters each year
Lulu Kelly Nardine Awards: journalism students who have demonstrated excellence in writing
Richard Tuttle Orr Scholarship: scholarships based on academic merit and/or financial need for students who are majoring in journalism
Helen C. and Theodore B. Peterson: journalism
Karen Lucas Petitte Endowed Scholarship in Journalism: student in journalism based on academic merit and financial need
Glenn Holman Roberts Journalism Scholarship: juniors or seniors who have proven ability in journalism courses and extracurricular journalistic experience and who demonstrate a particular interest in print journalism and have financial need
Harold Gustave Roettger Memorial Award: graduating senior in media, based on academic performance, and a member of Kappa Tau Alpha, a national communications honorary society
John H. and Sylvia N. Schacht Memorial Scholarship: undergraduate student in Media who is a staff member of The Daily Illini
Charles G. Sotir Journalism Scholarship: journalism
Harold E. and Dorothy Johnson Sortor Journalism Scholarship: journalism students with academic merit
Carl and Ruth S. Stephens Scholarships: journalism students who demonstrate academic merit and/or financial need
Joe Sutton Honorary Scholarship: female print journalism student enrolled in the College of Media — who is or has been on the staff of The Daily Illini — on the basis of academic performance and promise of success in journalism
John T. Trebilcock Memorial Award: recognizes a Daily Illini reporter judged to have done the year’s best investigative reporting
Joel D. and Analee Weisman Award: awarded to a journalism student working in journalism, marketing or management positions
Wilkey Scholarship for Print Journalism: junior or senior enrolled in print journalism who displays good mentoring abilities
Ed Wilks Memorial Scholarship in Journalism: undergraduate journalism students interested in newspaper careers
Robert N. and Lorraine M. Wilt Scholarship: female journalism student